Because of redistricting, all 15 seats on the Texas State Board of Education will be up for grabs in the November 2012 elections. The results of those elections will determine whether the religious right’s corrosive influence over public education will weaken or grow as the board considers what the next generation of public school students in Texas will learn about sex education, social studies, science and other subjects. We plan to publish on TFN Insider candidate announcements for a seat on the SBOE. We will publish announcements in no particular order, and their publication does not constitute any sort of endorsement by TFN. We will redact requests for contributions or mentions of fundraising events from the announcements, but we will provide links to the candidates’ websites (if available).

Dexter Smith, District 8, D-Friendswood (Current District 8 Board Member: Barbara Cargill-R-The Woodlands)

On Dec. 12, educator Dexter Smith filed to run as a Democrat in SBOE Dist. 7. The seat is currently held by David Bradley, R-Beaumont, who is running for reelection. Smith’s website is

My name is Dexter Smith. I am a father of four. My wife’s name is Toya and we have been married… Read More

We’ve seen a flurry of additional candidate filings for Texas State Board of Education races over the last few days. We don’t yet have announcements or campaign websites for all of these candidates, but we wanted to list their names here. We have included other candidates who filed earlier but for whom we also don’t yet have formal announcements. You can find posts about those other SBOE candidates here.

TFN’s SBOE election watch page includes a full listing of candidates who have filed, including (when available) links to their campaign websites: (If you have information about a candidate’s announcement and/or campaign website, please click here to let us know.)

The candidate filing period ends on Monday.

SBOE District 1 Carlos “Charlie” Garza, R-El Paso (incumbent) Andres Muro, D-El Paso

SBOE District 2 (Current board member: Mary Helen Berlanga, D-Corpus Christi; not seeking re-election) Veronica Anzaldua, R-McAllen Trinita Graham Coretta, D-Corpus Christi Ruben Cortez Jr., D-Brownsville Celeste Zepeda Sanchez, D-San Benito

SBOE District 4 Lawrence Allen Jr., D-Fresno (incumbent)

SBOE District 5 (Current board member: Ken Mercer, R-San Antonio) Rebecca Bell-Metereau, D-San Marcos

SBOE District… Read More